[FreeNAS 9 Plugins] - SAB / SB / CP / HP / Maraschino / HTPC / Mylar / LL / Gamez

Status
Not open for further replies.

Osiris

Contributor
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
148
Hi Joshua,
Did you change anything when it comes to autoupdating couchpotato then?
I've got the same issue as ratzofftoya and I have kind of a fresh CP plugin-jail install (a couple of months old).
Is there anything we could check?
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
Hi Joshua,
Did you change anything when it comes to autoupdating couchpotato then?
I've got the same issue as ratzofftoya and I have kind of a fresh CP plugin-jail install (a couple of months old).
Is there anything we could check?
i haven't changed to CP pbi for months. This is caused by issues in CPs update mechanism. someone should share logs with the CP dev on github.

EDIT
I tested a fresh install and it gave me version c295b34 which is the latest version.

Here's the commands I recommend if you want to refresh your source.
Code:
service couchpotato onestop
rm -r /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer/
fetch --no-verify-peer https://github.com/RuudBurger/CouchPotatoServer/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
mv CouchPotatoServer-master/ /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer
chown -R media:media /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer
rm -r master.zip
service couchpotato start
 
Last edited:

Castertr0y357

Dabbler
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
12
I'm a semi-noob when it comes to freenas jail command lines, and I have a question about the mylar plugin.

I'm trying to get over to the development branch after updating the freenas plugin to the most recent version. I have noticed a lack of updates on the mylar master branch, and I've run into a hiccup where the post processing script ends up getting stuck. The recommendation from the mylar dev was to use a couple of git commands to switch over to the dev version. I have no idea where to find git within the freenas jail though, and I'm wondering if anyone here knows what to do to make that happen. I imagine there's some sort of caveat since it's within freenas though.

I would appreciate any help on the issue.

Thanks
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
I'm a semi-noob when it comes to freenas jail command lines, and I have a question about the mylar plugin.

I'm trying to get over to the development branch after updating the freenas plugin to the most recent version. I have noticed a lack of updates on the mylar master branch, and I've run into a hiccup where the post processing script ends up getting stuck. The recommendation from the mylar dev was to use a couple of git commands to switch over to the dev version. I have no idea where to find git within the freenas jail though, and I'm wondering if anyone here knows what to do to make that happen. I imagine there's some sort of caveat since it's within freenas though.

I would appreciate any help on the issue.

Thanks
If they are gamestopper bugs in mylar the dev really should push those to the 'master' branch

The freenas plugin doesn't use run mylar using git, but instead uses the source method.
Follow these steps to convert an existing mylar plugin install to use git and checkout the 'development' branch
Code:
service mylar onestop
pkg install git
rm -r /usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar
git clone git://github.com/evilhero/mylar.git /usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar
git --git-dir=/usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar/.git --work-tree=/usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar checkout development
chown -R media:media /usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar
service mylar start
 

Castertr0y357

Dabbler
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
12
If they are gamestopper bugs in mylar the dev really should push those to the 'master' branch

The freenas plugin doesn't use run mylar using git, but instead uses the source method.
Follow these steps to convert an existing mylar plugin install to use git and checkout the 'development' branch
Code:
service mylar onestop
pkg install git
rm -r /usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar
git clone git://github.com/evilhero/mylar.git /usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar
git --git-dir=/usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar/.git --work-tree=/usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar checkout development
chown -R media:media /usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/share/mylar/mylar
service mylar start


Thanks a bunch for the help. Worked like a charm and it seems to be a bit snappier now.
 

Osiris

Contributor
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
148
What's really funny is that I ran the following (I did the stop and the start of the plugin via the FreeNas gui)
Code:
rm -r /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer/
fetch --no-verify-peer https://github.com/RuudBurger/CouchPotatoServer/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
mv CouchPotatoServer-master/ /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer
chown -R media:media /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer
rm -r master.zip

... And CP is still telling me that I need to update.

It's a umask issue within the jail

I've changed a few lines in the main.py code of CP to get this straightened out
Look for the cleanup section. I've added the umask and the chmod line (overkill, I know).
Code:
           # Cleanup leftover from last time
            if os.path.isdir(extracted_path):
                self.removeDir(extracted_path)
            os.umask(0002)
            self.makeDir(extracted_path)
            os.chmod(extracted_path,0o777)


So root cause: python's mkDir results in folder creation with weird permissions.
How do I change the default umask setting for a jail?
Howcome this seems to be a problem for me/us and not for the majority of people?
 
Last edited:

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
What's really funny is that I ran the following (I did the stop and the start of the plugin via the FreeNas gui)
Code:
rm -r /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer/
fetch --no-verify-peer https://github.com/RuudBurger/CouchPotatoServer/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
mv CouchPotatoServer-master/ /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer
chown -R media:media /usr/pbi/couchpotato-amd64/share/couchpotato/CouchPotatoServer
rm -r master.zip

... And CP is still telling me that I need to update.

It's a umask issue within the jail

I've changed a few lines in the main.py code of CP to get this straightened out
Look for the cleanup section. I've added the umask and the chmod line (overkill, I know).
Code:
           # Cleanup leftover from last time
            if os.path.isdir(extracted_path):
                self.removeDir(extracted_path)
            os.umask(0002)
            self.makeDir(extracted_path)
            os.chmod(extracted_path,0o777)


So root cause: python's mkDir results in folder creation with weird permissions.
How do I change the default umask setting for a jail?
Howcome this seems to be a problem for me/us and not for the majority of people?
As for CP needing an update after the manual source refrshing steps. That's because it doesn't know what version it's on anymore. It will do an 'update' which mean it will grab the latest version of CP from the repo, and write the version to a text file.

I'm not sure why you are having that issue. Do you possibly have your jail datasets set to use windows permissions? I don't know what it does, not really sure how any of that ACL stuff works.
 

CraftyClown

Patron
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
214
Hey Josh,

I'm having a strange issue with both CP and Headphones.

If I try to update CP from the Freenas GUI, I get this error message:

Error: Unmount: /mnt/Goliath/jails/CouchPotato_2/Movies: not a file system root directory

Everything is working fine, plugins are fully functional etc, just can't update.

I installed a new zraid2 pool yesterday and successfully moved my jails to it today. I updated Sickrage and that worked fine. It's just Couch Potato and Headphones that complain

Any ideas?

EDIT: Sorry, worked it out. I had forgotten to change over some of my jail storage.
 
Last edited:

rawkus

Explorer
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
69
Thinking about installing the HTPC manager plugin Is there a how to out there or is it pretty straight forward? I have my setup right where I want it and don't want to screw it up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

ClayM

Explorer
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
67
I've got a bunch of 9.3 / 9.3.1 plugins installed and I see there are updates for them

two questions

1) do I need to update at all
2) can I safely update without losing my settings for everything?

Thanks!
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
I've got a bunch of 9.3 / 9.3.1 plugins installed and I see there are updates for them

two questions

1) do I need to update at all
2) can I safely update without losing my settings for everything?

Thanks!
you don't need to update, the update just fixed some issues with HTTPS that not everyone would experience.

yes, updating shouldn't mess with your /var/db/PLUGINS folder which stores the plugins settings
 

i3luefire

Explorer
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
69
NVM on the VPN unless people have 2 external static IPs and are semi-experts i cannot explain it.

BTW thanks for all the awesome plugins and all the awesome tutorials and support!!!!
 
Last edited:

CraftyClown

Patron
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
214
Hey Josh,

There seem to be some issues going on with Mylar at the moment.

The dev is trying to work it out, but he has asked me to find out what version of OpenSSL I am running. He's given me this code, but it I guess it is Linux rather than FreeBSD. Any idea how I can find out?

python -c 'import ssl; print(ssl.OPENSSL_VERSION)'
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
Hey Josh,

There seem to be some issues going on with Mylar at the moment.

The dev is trying to work it out, but he has asked me to find out what version of OpenSSL I am running. He's given me this code, but it I guess it is Linux rather than FreeBSD. Any idea how I can find out?

python -c 'import ssl; print(ssl.OPENSSL_VERSION)'
this plugin uses its own isolated version of python. May try this as the first command..
Code:
/usr/pbi/mylar-amd64/bin/python2.7
 

CraftyClown

Patron
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
214
Okay, so the Python package with Mylar uses OpenSSL 0.9.8za-freebsd 5 Jun 2014

The Dev has told me it will need an update to 1.0.1 to get it working again

Is that something that can be done?
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
Okay, so the Python package with Mylar uses OpenSSL 0.9.8za-freebsd 5 Jun 2014

The Dev has told me it will need an update to 1.0.1 to get it working again

Is that something that can be done?
Yup, I'll need to recompile the plugin with the newer version of openssl and upload it to the repo. Then tomorrow you can try upgrading mylar in the Plugins > Installed tab
 

CraftyClown

Patron
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
214
Thanks Josh.

For the first time I believe this may be an issue I've had with Mylar that wasn't completely down to my stupidity :D
 

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
Thanks Josh.

For the first time I believe this may be an issue I've had with Mylar that wasn't completely down to my stupidity :D
Lol, hopefully we can get this fixed up.
These plugins all seem to be wanting the latest openssl lately. Is probably a good sign that most of the net is now using HTTPS with the latest generation SSL.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top